LCC San Diego
Blue Wave
Home   Registration   Schedule   Hotel/Travel   Awards   Newsletters   Charity   Book Room
About LCC   Attendees   Connections   San Diego   Volunteering   Committee   Sponsors   Advertising
Blue Wave

Lefty Awards

The Left Coast Crime “Lefty” Awards are fan awards chosen by registered members of the Left Coast Crime convention. Nominations for awards to be presented at each annual convention are made by people registered for that convention and also the immediately prior convention. A ballot listing the official nominees is given to each registrant when they check in at the convention, and final voting takes place at the convention. The ballots are tabulated and that year’s Lefty Awards are presented at the Awards Celebration.

Left Coast Crime 2020 will be presenting four Lefty Awards at the 30th annual LCC convention in San Diego, California The Lefty awards will be voted on at the convention and presented at the Awards Banquet on Saturday, March 14, 2020, at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley.

Registrants of the 2019 and 2020 Left Coast Crime Conventions will be able to nominate three titles in each category. Nominations will be accepted between January 1 and January 12, 2020, for the four 2020 Lefty Awards.

2020 Lefty Awards
  Best Mystery Novel
  Best Debut Mystery Novel
  Best Humorous Mystery Novel
  Best Historical Mystery Novel (The Bruce Alexander Memorial), covering events before 1970

To be eligible, titles must have been published for the first time in the United States or Canada during 2019, in book or ebook format. (If published in other countries before 2019, a book is still eligible if it meets the US or Canadian publication requirement.)

Nomination forms will be emailed to all 2019 and 2020 LCC registrants by January 1, 2020. Only nominations received between January 1st and January 12th will be tabulated. The Lefty Award nominees will be announced on January 13, 2020. Final voting will be by paper ballot at the convention in San Diego.

Email Awards Co-Chairs Lucinda Surber & Stan Ulrich with questions about the Left Coast Crime Awards.

History of the Left Coast Crime Awards